## **BOARD OF VISITORS**

The University of Mary Washington is a public corporation that by statute is governed by the Board of Visitors, one member of which is elected every two years to serve as Rector. Composed of 12 members appointed by the Governor of Virginia, the Board is empowered to establish the mission and purpose of the University and to promote the general welfare of the institution. Some of the specific responsibilities of the Board of Visitors include appointing the **President**, determining institutional policies, setting faculty salaries, fixing tuition and fees, awarding degrees, approving changes to the curriculum and the Honor System, and overseeing the **Internal Audit** office.

The appointment of the Board of Visitors is set forth by the **Code** of Virginia, which requires that Board appointment be confirmed by the **General Assembly**. In addition, at least six members of the Board must be alumni of the University, and no more than three may be nonresidents of Virginia. Each member serves a term of four years and may be eligible for reappointment to one successive term.

For additional information and to view the current listing of board members, please refer to Board of Visitors (https://www.umw.edu/bov/).